Canada has different levels of government. These are also known as tiers. Each level makes up the governing body for each area in the country. Durham Region is a regional municipality, sitting between the provincial government and local municipalities. Each tier controls different services, such as social services, road maintenance and police services.

Tiers of government

The three tiers of government in Canada and in Durham Region:

  1. Federal government (the Government of Canada).
  2. Provincial government (the Government of Ontario).
  3. Local government (the Region of Durham, and local area municipalities within the region).

Each level takes care of services that are paid for by both tax and non-tax revenue. Tax revenue includes sales tax, personal income tax, business tax, property tax, and other taxes. Non-tax revenue includes parking fees, facility rentals, and similar services. 

Contact Us